The Royalist (September 2014)

Posted in Books

William Falkland is a dead man.

A Royalist dragoon who fought against Parliament, he is currently awaiting execution at Newgate prison. Yet when he is led away from Newgate with a sack over his head, it is not the gallows to which they take him, but to Oliver Cromwell himself. Cromwell has heard of Falkland’s reputation as an investigator and now more than ever he needs a man of conscience. His New Model Army are wintering in Devon but mysterious deaths are sweeping the camp. In return for his freedom, Falkland is despatched to uncover the truth. With few friends and a slew of enemies, Falkland soon learns there is a dark demon at work, one who won’t go down without a fight. But how can he protect Cromwell’s army from such a monster and, more importantly, will he be able to protect himself?


The Royalist is published in hardcover on 25th September, and in paperback early next year. Here’s the opening chapter.


“There are no rose-tinted glasses in this tale, and for me that’s its brilliance…” Parmenion books

“The Royalist is a fine novel, immersing us so deeply into the dark and dirty world of Cromwell’s Model Army during one particularly cold and chilling winter”
For Winter Nights

“A perfect read for fans of Shona MacLean and C.J. Sansom.” We Love This Book

“Deas … integrates history and narrative knowledgeably, with wisdom that shines through in Falkland’s voice based on his experience of the tragedy of war.” The Historical Novel Society

“a very enjoyable and refreshing read that gave you a new understanding of the time and the New Model army and how it was anything but united” Reality is a Bore

“The author writes with clear understanding of the period in which the book is set and makes the characters believable.” Jaffareadstoo

This is a clever, convoluted tale steeped in historical detail.” Lovereading

“Deas has delivered an intriguing, drama-laden, heart-thumping crime thriller with historical accuracy and authenticity. I found myself sorely disappointed at the last page; not with the ending, but that it had ended!” Storminthestacks

I try to post the critical reviews that are actually thoughtful too.

“The hero has promise for future adventures but the ‘modern man’ personality needs to be amended.” (off Amazon)

Yes, my protagonist is world-weary and no, I don’t think the “modern man” personality is likely to change. But it’s a fair review.